Minutes of AGM 2012

University of Bedfordshire, Luton
Thursday 12th January 2012

Present: Approx. 47 members
Apologies: Helen Baehr, Sarita Malik


1.0           Minutes of the meeting 13th January 2011
1.1 The minutes were agreed to be a correct account of the previous meeting.  However, the spelling of “Elinar” on page two should be “Einar”.
3.0           Matters Arising
3.1 To be published
8.1 Changes have now come in to play
8.2 Meetings and discussions with BFI were continuing in line with the motion passed at the last AGM.
4.0 Chair’s Report
4.1 It has been a turbulent year, especially in our field.  Natalie Fenton and Joanna Callaghan were thanked for the work on the policy issues.  The report showed we have tried to be proactive as well as responsive.
4.2 We are trying to counter negative publicity through using the Schools pamphlet etc.
4.3 Einar Thorson was thanked for his 3D design, website and mailing list.
4.4 The eight networks are now very active.  It is the WMSN 10th Anniversary this year.  The policy network was active in making research heard.  PGN had some anxieties due to loss of HEA funding but now looks more secure.
4.5 Thanks to Janey Gordon, Anita Biressi and Heather Nunn for their conference organisation.
4.6 Thanks were given to the retiring EC Members George McKay, Paul Kerr and Petros Iosifides.
5.0 Treasurer’s Report
5.1 The 2010 Conference income was a total of £6553.  We are hopeful for the same or an improved result in Luton.  The costs of the newsletter were noted.  The traffic to the website is currently down, despite improvements made.
5.2 The Accounts were accepted by the AGM.  Online banking and PayPal is now in place.
5.3 In response to a question about reserves it was explained that the production of the Schools pamphlet was likely to be costly.
6.0 Sub Committees (Reports attached)
6.1 AASC (Report Tabled)
The conference organisers were thanked and the ADM-HEA gave £500 for best paper.  There was a good response from the January 2011 call for hosts for the 2013 conference.  It would be in Ulster in 2013 and Bournemouth in 2014.  The Networks showed to be active.
6.2 ACSC
Two issues in 3D had been published.  NF, BF and SL were thanked.  The hacking attack on the website in March 2011 has now been resolved and the CM systems have now been deployed.
6.3 ADSC
Report tabled.  The report summarised the response to the HEFCE consultation on PGR funding, discussions with the BFI, the White Paper on Higher Education,  and on the response to the REF panel criteria consultation.  All Association consultation responses and similar items are published on the website.
7.0 Report on Networks
7.1 WMSN
The committee were thanked for its 10th year.  Several events went on throughout the year.
Questions from the floor:We should respond to things like the Bailey Report.  We should not allow major statements like that on sexualisation to go unchallenged by research.  Events such as “Media and Motherhood” to be more considered.
The Chair of PGN noted the Conference at Bournemouth and the training event in Southampton in 2012.  The group will be at Loughborough in September 2012.  There will be a training event in the Autumn at Lincoln and bids for 2013 will be invited soon.
J Callaghan reported on the initiatives and the meeting in Bristol.  There are two events taking place in 2012, one at the University of West of Scotland, taking place in March 2012.
The network has been working well as a forum for the debates.  There are several events arranged jointly with RSN, they are taking place throughout the country.  There is a good relationship with OFCOM.  CCMR is now formed as a coordinating umbrella group for relevant campaigns.
Steve Lax noted the seminar taking place in Leeds in February 2012.  The Steering Group has a new Chair; Salvo Scifo.
A question from the Floor asked about relations with other associations, AJE in particular, other organisations, for example BAFTSS.  The Chair explained the role of the networks and commented on the state of discussions with BAFTSS.
8.0 Report on Election
There was no contest in the election for the first time due to there being fewer candidates than places. Thus the following were elected to the EC for 2012:
Sue Thornham (2011 – 2012)
Heather Nunn (2012 – 2013)
Peter Golding (2011 – 2012)
Karen Ross (2012 – 2013)
Anita Biressi (2011 – 2012)
Bob Franklin (2012 – 2013)
Einar Thorson (2012 – 2013)
Helen Baehr (2012 – 2013)
Janey Gordon (2011 – 2012)
Joanna Callaghan (2011 – 2012)
John Ellis (2012 – 2013)
Maire Messenger – Davies (2011 – 2012)
Mark Jancovich (2011 – 2012)
Natalie Fenton (2012 – 2013)
Stephen Lax (2012 – 2013)
Tim O’Sullivan (2011 – 2012)
9.0 Resolution
From Floor: Marie Messenger – Davies noted the Policy Network were keen to foster a MeCCSA relationship with CCMR.
From Floor:  Natalie Fenton explained CCMR.  Can we support the submission to Leveson?
The following motion was put and seconded:The AGM supports the initiative of the Coordinating Committee for Media Reform in its submission to Leveson, and further public forums, as a proper and fruitful stimulus to well-informed debate.
The motion was carried with only one abstention
10.0 Any Other Business
Concern about the future of funding for media in the UK and Europe was expressed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.